Main photo: Richard Leonard, Men’s Champion.  Sarah Kelly, Ladies Runner Up.  Stephen Millane, Men’s Runner Up. Shay Brennan, An Cathairloch DLRCoCo.  Pat MacDonagh, Ladies Champion.  Margaret McNevin, LBLI President. Rita Saunders, Dun Laoghaire BC President.  Ciaran Ryan, BLI President.

The Champion of Champions competitions were held in Dun Laoghaire Bowling Club on Sunday 14 July 2019.
The semi-finals were played at 1.30pm and the finals at 4.30pm. The day was warm and overcast with a sharp easterly breeze and some strong sunshine at times. The bowling green and the grounds around the Club House here in pristine condition.
The standard of bowling throughout the day was high although this was not reflected in the final scores, the winners had decisive wins over their opponents and can rightfully claim the title “Champion of Champions”.  Ladies Champion, Pat MacDonagh, Leinster.  Mens Champion, Richard Leonard, St. James’s Gate.

The results are as follows:
Ladies Semi-finals:
Pat MacDonagh, (Leinster) 21. Sandra Murtagh, (Kenilworth) 7.
Sarah Kelly, (Crumlin) 21. Maeve Hoey, (CYM) 4.

Mens Semi-finals:
Richard Leonard, (SJG) 21, Frank McCarthy, (CYM) 13.
Stephen Millane, (Crumlin) 21. John Lee (BoI) 10.

Ladies Final:
Pat MacDonagh 21. Sarah Kelly 12.

Mens Final:
Richard Leonard 21. Stephen Millane 10.

The President of Dun Laoghaire Bowling Club, Rita Saunders introduced the BLI & LBLI Presidents, Ciaran Ryan and Margaret McNevin respectively and invited Shay Brennan, An Cathairloch DLRCoCo to say a few words. Mr. Brennan spoke of the importance of sports in the community and outlined the work undertaken by DLRCoCo in promoting sports in the county. Mr. Brennan assisted by Rita Saunders presented prizes to the Winners and Runners Up. Pat MacDonagh thanked the competitors, the Markers and the Organizing Committee for a successful event.

Click once on image to enlarge.


Stephen Millane & Richard Leonard.

Match finished.

Richard Leonard,
Mens Champion 2019.

An Cathairloch, Shay Brennan.

Sarah Kelly &Pat MacDonagh.

Match finished.

Pat MacDonagh,
Ladies Champion 2019

Pat MacDonagh,
Thank you speech.


Frank McCarthy & Richard Leonard. Match finished.

John Lee (in white, left)
Stephen Millane (on bank)


Sandra Murtagh & Pat MacDonagh.———————–

Sarah Kelly & Maeve Hoey.—————————————————————-