Main Photo: Paul Smyth Trophy.

The final for the Paul Smyth Trophy 2024 was held in Leinster Bowling Club on Sunday 23 March. The finalists were Marian Lynch (CYM) & Ray Moore (Leinster) v Michael Gaughran (Leinster) & Maeve Lavelle (CYM). Maeve and Michael got off to a flying start and were 9-1 up on the 6th. end. However when Ray and Marian got possession of the jack they quickly narrowed the deficit to 10-8 by the 9th. end. From there on it was anyones game and they went into the last end 13-12 in favour of Michael and Maeve. Michael and Maeve got a wood each nearest the jack to win the game by 3 points. The match was played in bright sunshine but it was a very cold day. Light refreshments were served in the Bar and President Annette Finn presented the runners-up prize to Marian and Ray and the Paul Smyth Trophy to Maeve and Michael. President Annette thanked Anne Fitzgerald the Competition Organiser for an excellent job well done.

Click once on image to enlarge.

Marian Lynch (CYM) & Ray Moore (Leinster) v Maeve Lavelle (CYM) & Michael Gaughran (Leinster).

Maeve & Ray.

Last end (14) in progress. Maeve & Michael on top.

Last end, Michael delivers his last wood.

Marian congratulates Michael

Ray congratulates Michael.

Runners-up, Ray & Marian with President Annette Finn.

Marian & Michael.

A close scoreboard but who owns the two green woods?

Last end. Marian under pressure, one wood left.

Maeve & Michael’s two woods at the jack gives them victory.

Ray & Marian Runners-up.

Competition organiser, Anne Fitzgerald and President Annette Finn.

Winners of the Paul Smyth Trophy, Michael & Maeve with President Annette.

To see more photos of this event, click The Paul Smyth Trophy 2024.