Main Photo: Paul Smyth Trophy.

The final of the Paul Smyth Trophy 2023 was held in Leinster Bowling Club on Sunday 26 March. The semi-finals were played the previous week. The competition which commenced in January is a 2-bowl pairs game and 20 teams participated. The Competition Controller, Anne Fitzgerald did an excellent job and ensured that all time lines were met. Anne thanked all who participated in the competition and congratulated those who got to the semi-finals. Paul Smyth dispensed the prizes.

The. semi-finalists were:

  1. Gene Morrin & Anne Murray v Terry Harte & Anne O’Herlihy.
  2. Hugh Cullivan & Catherine Clarke v Maria Walshe & Ciaran Murray.

The finalists were:

Terry Harte & Anne O/Herlihy v Maria Walshe & Ciaran Murray.

Winners: Maria Walshe & Ciaran Murray.

Matches throughout the competition were played in a friendly but competitive manner. The finalists were particularly well matched and it was either teams game until the last end.

Click once on image to enlarge.

Anne Fitzgerald, Competition Controller

Gene Morrin, Anne Murray v Terry Harte, Anne O’Herlihy (semi-finals)

Winners, Terry & Anne (semi-finals)

Terry & Anne v Maria & Ciaran (final)

Ciaran Murray & Declan McSweeney, sponsors of the Paul Smyth Trophy Competition.

Paul Smyth.

Hugh Cullivan, Catherine Clarke v Maria Walshe, Ciaran Murray (semi-finals)

Winners, Maria & Ciaran (semi-final)

Winners, Maria & Ciaran (final)

Synthetic Bowling Green, open all year.

To see more photos of this event, click The Paul Smyth Trophy 2023.