Two special events took place at Leinster Bowling Club on Sunday 24 April 2022.

Firstly there was the semi-finals and final of the inaugural Paul Smyth Trophy Competition and this was followed by the presentation by Paul Smyth of his International Cap to the Club.

The semi-finals were held in the morning and the participants were: Robbie Meany & Lorraine Doyle v Agnes Gillick & Declan McSweeney and Pat Kenny & Mary Keating v Paul Smyth & Sheila Harte. In the afternoon the final was played between Robbie Meany & Lorraine Doyle and Pat Kenny & Mary Keating. Mary Keating & Pat Kenny were the winners of the Paul Smyth Trophy 2022.

Following play, light refreshments were served in the Function Room.

As mentioned in a previous news item Ciaran Murray and Declan McSweeney sponsored The Paul Smyth Trophy Competition with the approval of the Bowling Committee. Prior to prize giving, Declan had a few well chosen words to say about the origin  of the competition and about Paul himself. His comments drew laughter all round. Anne Fitzgerald presented the runners-up prizes to Lorraine Doyle and Robbie Meany and Paul Smyth presented the Trophy to the winners, Mary Keating and Pat Kenny.

President Anne O’Herlihy announced that Paul had donated his International Cap to the Club. Anne read at length a list of some of Paul’s greatest achievements on the bowling green over many decades. Paul has 46 International Caps, the first in 1978 and many national awards. Paul’s International Cap has now pride of place in the bar between the two iconic photos of his remarkable achievement in Ayr in 1982 when he skipped the Leinster team what won the BIBC Triples & Fours. We thank Paul for his generosity and wish him many more years playing and enjoying the sport he loves.


Click once on image to enlarge.

Semi-final: R. Meany, L. Doyle v A. Gillick, D. McSweeney

Finalists: P. Kenny, M. Keating v R. Meany, L. Doyle.

Ciaran Murray & Declan McSweeney, sponsors of the Paul Smyth Trophy Competition.

Runners-up, Lorraine Doyle & Robbie Meany.


President Anne O’Herlihy.

Semi-Final: P. Kenny, M. Keating v S. Harte, P. Smyth

Winners: Pat Kenny & Mary Keating.

Pres. Anne O’Herlihy, C. Murray, P. Smyth, D. McSweeney.

Paul Smyth presents Trophy to Mary Keating & Pat Kenny.

Presentation of Paul Smyth’s International Cap to Leinster Bowling Club. President Anne O’Herlihy & Paul Smyth.

To see more photos of this event, click The Paul Smyth Trophy 2022.